back arrow iconBack to News

June 13, 2023

NSSF Awards $50,000 in Patron Member Student Scholarships

20 Students are recognized for their essays on firearm-related topics

WASHINGTON, D.C. — NSSF®, The Firearm Industry Trade Association, has awarded $50,000 in scholarship funds to 20 students in its essay contest open to employees of Patron Member companies and their family members.

“We congratulate the scholarship winners and extend our appreciation to all who entered the essay contest,” said Samantha Hill, NSSF’s Director, Member Services, who oversees the NSSF Patron Member Scholarship Program. “In their winning essays, students explored issues that affect firearm ownership in America today and the future of target shooting and hunting. This scholarship program allows NSSF to recognize its Patron Member companies for their extraordinary commitment to their trade association.”

To earn one of the 20 scholarships offered, employees of NSSF Patron Member companies or their qualified family members submitted applications and essays on one of three topics:

  • How would you retain, expand and diversify participation in hunting and target shooting among minorities and non-traditional demographic groups?
  • What makes a good mentor, and how could mentors impact responsible shooting and hunting participation?
  • Does gun safety require new laws (a.k.a., “Gun Control”)? Explain and defend your position.

Earning the Grand Prize $8,000 scholarship was Kendall Boone, whose father is an employee at Olin Winchester. Kendall’s essay focused on expanding firearm safety and target shooting and hunting opportunities for minorities and under-represented groups through the development of free firearm education courses in urban regions.

Taking the First Prize scholarship of $5,000 was Victoria Wegley, whose father also works at Olin Winchester.

Earning the Second Prize scholarship of $3,000 was Andrew Harlow, who is employed at Sturm, Ruger & Co.

The 17 runner-up prize winners each received $2,000. They are Mattie Lively, Olin Winchester; Landon Zentz, Hornady; Bowen Mather, Sturm Ruger; Anna Livermore, FN America; Hayden Livermore, FN America; Jacob Schwartz, Olin Winchester; Wyatt Tiller, Timber Creek Outdoors; Philip Mather, Sturm, Ruger; Hadlee Russell, Sturm Ruger; Andrew King, Fiocchi; Cappi Hoeting, Sturm Ruger; Leif Hogg, Fiocchi; Lilly Dunn, Olin Winchester; Ciara Cooper, Olin Winchester; Jacob Bleisch, Olin Winchester; Breena Davis, Olin Winchester; and Joseph Brinkley, Sturm Ruger.

NSSF makes the scholarships available as a means of thanking its Patron Members for their substantial financial support of NSSF and its mission to promote, protect and preserve hunting and the shooting sports.

“It’s a great to see these quality entries and to have these students honored through the NSSF Patron Member Scholarship Program,” said Hill.


About NSSF
NSSF is the trade association for the firearm industry. Its mission is to promote, protect and preserve hunting and the shooting sports. Formed in 1961, NSSF has a membership of thousands of manufacturers, distributors, firearm retailers, shooting ranges, sportsmen’s organizations and publishers nationwide. For more information, visit


Media contact:
Bill Brassard

Share This Article

Tags: NSSF Member NSSF Patron Member Scholarship

Categories: Featured, Manufacturers, Media, Press Releases, Ranges, Retailers, Top Stories